Classic events Car museums Classic car brands

Little Classics News: 15 November 2013

Murray Walker Recognised for Lifetime Achievement

Murray Walker with Sir Stirling MossMurray Walker OBE has received the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award at the third International Historic Motoring Awards (IHMA) in tribute to his 60 years as the ‘voice of motorsport’.

The veteran motor racing broadcaster and journalist, who recently celebrated his 90th birthday, was presented with the award by another legendary figure from the world of motorsport, Sir Stirling Moss, at the IHMA dinner at London’s St. Pancras Rennaissance Hotel last night.

Murray commented that he and Sir Stirling both started their careers in 1948, and went on to tell the audience that they are often mistaken for each other – ‘”Both folically challenged, both wear glasses, same shape head…” He recounted an incident on a cruise on which they were both giving talks, when a woman grabbed him and said, “You make racing come alive. That commentator chap is good but you’re much better.”

Reminiscing about his decades with Formula One, Murray added, “I miss Formula One desperately. I was lucky enough to be involved in F1: 1000 people, the best in the world at what they do, travelling the world together, staying in fantastic hotels together, eating in fantastic restaurants together. The camaraderie is like being in the Army, the Navy or the Air Force. I miss it so much.”

The International Historic Motoring Awards, in association with EFG private bank and Octane magazine, celebrate the ‘best of the best’ in what is now a £multi-billion global industry.

The industry is broad not just in geographic spread but also in content, and the awards’ categories and winners reflected that:

  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Murray Walker OBE
  • Car of the Year: Bugatti 57SC Aerolithe recreation
  • Restoration of the Year: Andy Middlehurst for the Jim Clark Lotus 43
  • Personal Achievement of the Year (sponsored by HERO Events): Philip Young
  • Museum/Collection of the Year (sponsored by Footman James): Louwman Museum, the Netherlands
  • Publication of the Year (sponsored by Hortons Books): ‘The Stewardship of Historically Important Automobiles’
  • Club of the Year: Aston Martin Owners Club
  • Motoring Event of the Year: The Amelia Island Concours d'Elegance (USA) and the VHRA Pendine Sands Amateur Hot Rod Races
  • Motorsport Event of Year (sponsored by Jaguar Cars): Silverstone Classic
  • Race Series of the Year: FIA Masters Historic Formula One Championship
  • Rally or Tour of the Year: 20-Ghost Club Centenary Alpine Trial
  • Specialist of the Year: Francis Tuthill Ltd.

For more information please visit


Classic Motorcycles Classic Cars